top of page

Exploring your faith 2 ~ The vine and the Branches

Welcome to the second bible talk, I hope your week is going absolutely fantastic. Today's verse has to be one of my absolute favorite. It is so beautifully written and speaks to so many aspects of my life, and hopefully yours as well.

As you read this, write down things that stand out to you, along with words/phrases that apply to your life right now.

John 15: 1-8

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes[a] so that it will be even more fruitful. 3 You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6 If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

Now that you have read the passage, think about what you can do to produce more fruit, what you can work to cut out that prevent that fruit from growing.

"I am the true vine". God is our vine, our grounding point and our stabilization for life. We are apart of this vine, we grow on it, we are the branches. He "gardens" it and cares for us, ridding of any branches that could damage those around them.

What does it mean by bearing fruit? You produce fruit through good deads and caring for his children; your brothers and sisters. Things you do for christ produces fruit, and by doing so you grow spiritually and as a human being.

The fruit you do produce, he prunes. He encourages the production of more and more of that fruit. Making it meaningful and worthwhile. He places people and events into your life to continue this pruning and allow you to follow his path through life.

"Remain in me as I remain in you". This verse comforts me and reminds me it is a two way relationship. Too many people believe it is one sided and don't know where the other half is, or how it works. He speaks in ways throughout your life that you may not realize until you reflect on it. As you live for and with him, he does the same for you. You don't have to be perfect, because no one is but him; find his word, follow it, and live it out, and he will do what is best for you.

"Apart from me you can do nothing". Apart from our source of love, you are incapable of producing jewels, deeds that will not burn in the fiery eyes of God. All "good" things you do that aren't done in his name will burn in the fire on judgment day.

He isn't asking for much, your loyalty, love and faith is what he seeks and fills you with. Living this out as best as you can, he will be with you and guide you through this life. Having faith and trust within him is essential in order to establish this beautifully infinite relationship.

Thank you for joining me today, I hope you took away a valuable message that he has so beautifully provided us with, remember his love and compassion for you forever and always.

Have a great week-with love,

Autumn

Instagram: Autumn_Olson7

Autumns_Table

Email: AutumnOlson37@yahoo.com

bottom of page