top of page

UPDATE: Diet, Exercise & Self Acceptance

Hello my loves, I apologize for being MIA for a while. I have been stuck in a "writers block", not knowing what to write about. I have returned from college and have been spending all my time with loved ones and catching up with good friends.

This post is an update on my everyday diet, major life changes and acceptance.

Enjoy xoxo

DIET: From college to home

Lets dive right in...

Since being in college, each morning I have eaten either my homemade granola or a bowl of oats. I would then go to the cafeteria for lunch and then again for dinner. Not knowing what was exactly in my food. I ate what I knew was the best options, but I missed making my own food. As a freshman I do not have my own kitchen, or in my whole dorm.

I returned home for a weekend and invested in a Crock-Pot (6 Qt 8-in-1 Multi-Use Express Crock Programmable Slow Cooker, Pressure Cooker, Sauté, and Steamer, Stainless Steel(SCCPPC600-V1)) and it has saved my deprivation of cooking in college. It has numerous different functions, such as sauté/brown, pressure cooking, meat/stew, steam, slow cook, etc.

I use it to meal prep my lunches and dinners throughout the week, and still have my oats in the morning. It saves so much time and is so convenient throughout the day.

Since being home, and my mom being a paleo eater, I have been eating much more smoothie bowls, and virtually no grains. I have had a sweet tooth for about a month, only wanting fruits and (healthy) sweets. I have also upped my fat intake by eating an abundance of cashews for my snacks (latest obsession) and sometimes lunch. So it may come as a surprise, but I have not had my homemade granola for about 2 months! I have not noticed any changes body wise, but have in my digestion.

I have also changed when I eat my food. In the morning, I wait until 9 or 10 to ensure my food is digested and system is cleansed. I do not have a time limit at night for when I "stop" eating, I just eat intuitively (whenever my body tells me I am hungry). I still eat plant-based, a 5:1 ratio of more plants than meats and animal products. Only eating WHOLE foods, nothing prepackaged or processed.

EXERCISE

The past month & a half I have increased my cardio. Running 4-6 miles instead of 2-3. I absolutely love running these distances and am excited to continue to increase before my half marathon this summer!

I have been focusing on my yoga practice and working on more strength demanding poses. I have noticed an increase in my strength and ability to hold poses and breathe easily, instead of focusing on my arms shaking. I really love putting my mind at ease and receiving life's energy and love. During that time I ask my God for guidance, love and forgiveness.

MIND

Lastly, I have come to a point of acceptance. An acceptance with life, the world, and most importantly, my body. I have realized my body is one, and one part can not be without another. The dimples on my legs are apart of me, and everyone has them. It is okay, you are HUMAN. Overtraining to burn calories has left my mind. I now train and exercise for the health of my mind and body as a WHOLE. I eat for fuel, fuel that replenishes and cleanses my body. I enjoy healthy treats that are "high in fat" and allow myself to truly eat intuitively. I love me and treat my body with respect and love. It is something I have been working on for a while and am happy to say I have stepped over a stone I never thought I would.

Self love is important. Everyone has flaws, no one is made perfect.

Imperfect is beautiful, and so are you.

Thank you beauties, I love you.

xoxo Autumn

SOCIAL: Insta: Autumn_Olson7 // Autumns_Table

YouTube: Autumn Olson

bottom of page